Women of Action 2018


A day of recognizing the achievements of women in community, business, inspiration and science.

Israel Cancer Research Fund (ICRF) is pleased to invite you to the 18th Annual Women of Action Luncheon on May 2nd, 2019 at The Royal York Hotel in Toronto. At this event, ICRF will honour four extraordinary women for their achievements in health sciences, community philanthropy and business.

These women excel in their fields and represent a strong sense of their chosen professions and an equally strong compassion for humanitarian causes, by distinguishing themselves as truly charitable and benevolent people.


Registration to open in 2019.


View 2018 WOA Photo Gallery

About us

Israel Cancer Research Fund is one of the largest sources of private funds for cancer research in Israel. It is the only charitable organization in North America devoted solely to supporting cancer research in Israel.

ICRF-funded researchers continue to make significant progress in the fight against cancer by developing new, sophisticated anti-cancer drugs, advancing techniques in bone marrow transplantation, and enhancing our understanding of molecular events that contribute to the development of all types of cancers.

Since its inception, ICRF’s funding has now reached over 2,300 grants totaling approximately US $63,000,000 and continues to grow every year.

2018 Women of Action Honourees


Community Honourees

Anita & Ruth Ekstein

Recipient, Vicki Campbell “VAST” Community Award

Business Honouree

Ronni Fingold

Founder of Forest Hill Real Estate Inc., Brokerage

Recipient, Carole Tanenbaum WOA Business Award

Inspirational Honouree

Pearl Gryfe

Founder and Managing Director, Assistive Technology Clinic at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre and Baycrest Centre

Recipient, WOA Inspirational Honouree Award

Scientific Honouree

Eileen Rakovitch, MD MSc FRCPC

Associate Professor, Radiation Oncologist

Medical Director, Louise Temerty Breast Cancer Centre

Recipient, Wendy Lack WOA Scientific Award


Thank you to our organizing 2018 Event Chairs and Committee:

Event Co-Chairs: Elise Cohen, Dianne Gould, Wendy Kady

​Committee: Denise Armel, Lia Bruschetta, Lillian Chow, Kim Cohen, Vera Finkelstein, Anne Fox, Bryna Goldberg, Robin Gould Soil, Liza Gutfrajnd, Cathy Himelfarb Borden, Sharon London Liss, Jill Morris, Shimona Petroff,

Fern Reich, Joanne Richmond, Risa Rotenberg, Tracy Sandler, Beth Sokol, Anne Solomon, Sari Springer.

President: Norman Shiner | Executive Director: Jennifer Ouaknine